Bike Run Brick x 3

Oh haiii!

photo

(Me post shower, post meal but pre everything grooming / beautifying! This one is for you, Corey! Ha! I do solemnly swear to post more pictures! You have my word! Along with the everyday pictures, a few gems such as this one will get sneaked in from time to time, of course…

photo

What? Totally normal! Ha! – Photo credit to the, oh so talented, Rory!)

Anyhoo, I woke up today feeling all chirpy and confident after yesterdays ride so, being the masochist that I am, I decided on a godawful lung-buster of a lovely little brick session for my workout of the day.

  1. 10 mins bike
  2. 1 mile run
  3. 10 mins bike
  4. 1 mile run
  5. 10 mins bike
  6. 1 mile run

I set my bike up on the turbo and then ran a little mile loop from my front door. I’ve used the same loop a few times so I know that it’s exactly a mile which was handy as I couldn’t figure out how to (quickly) switch my garmin from indoors to outdoors whilst keeping it on auto multisport mode. I also wanted to keep it as ‘race’ like as possible so didn’t want to hang around waving my wrist in the air trying to get a signal!

I was aiming for my run splits to look something like 7:40 / 7:30 / 7:20 so I’m pretty chuffed with how I actually did;

BrickRunSplits

So, from right to left… 7:21 / 7:23 / 7:09

I would have loved negative splits all the way through but as long as I’m faster at the end than I am at the beginning, then I’m a happy, happy camper! 🙂

I realise that it’s saying that I ran 0.00 miles but I can assure you I ran whole miles! I made sure I ‘lapped’ it at exactly the same points so it should be pretty accurate! I started with a 15:05 (I must have been daydreaming with those extra 5 seconds!) minute warm up on the bike + a few dynamic stretches. Then the main body of the workout took me 57 minutes and 36 seconds, according to my garmin. A breakdown of the whole thing, looks like this;

BrickWholeWorkout

(Minor niggle – Any Garmin Connect users out there that know how to merge activities? It would be nice to see all the data together, as one whole workout.)

Oooh I also walked up and down my street after that third and final run, to cool down. I then finished with some stretching, my usual ice bath and a slap up dinner of homemade lasagna, 1/2 a sweet potato and loads of steamed kale & carrots topped with way too much (sorry I’m not sorry!) goats cheese!

photo 2

And now I’m sat feeling pretty content, getting through some work ready for uni tomorrow…

How did you get your sweat on today? Anyone out there a fan of brick workouts?

Lots of love, Hayley

2 thoughts on “Bike Run Brick x 3

  1. Great workout…and no I still dont know how to work my Garmin fully…too lazy i guess. lol
    Had a bit of a downer day…after our morning workout – I felt pain in my (bad foot), pain in my left leg and that was enough to make me sad. Not to mention all the rain. I have been rolling, stretching and scheduled a massage for tomorrow…hope that helps. Supposed to run a 3 mile tempo but think i might do a easy 5 and be done with it…until race day. eek!!!

    xoxo from Trinidad

    • (I know we’ve already chatted since this comment was posted but I’mma reply anyways! ;)) I’ve only just realised my garmin has a map feature on it! So handy as I get lost ALL THE FREAKIN TIME!! Ha! Hayley xx

Leave a Reply

