Hayley’s Workout Recap // Week 2

gymface

It’s that time of the week again?! Wow, time is flying! Good job I bloody love Mondays! I know I’ve talked about this before but I just love that fresh start, anything is possible feeling I get on Mondays and today is no exception.

Anyway, I’m here to give you a quick recap of my last week of training! I know what you’re thinking and you have my apologies for skipping a week! We are STILL without internet and I just didn’t get the chance to spend a couple of hours in Starbucks last week. So week 2 is actually week 3 but in the interest of keeping things in order on the blog I’m sticking to the title of week 2! 😉

Monday

REST DAY – It wasn’t supposed to be a rest day but I felt like crap so I listened to my body and took it easy.

Tuesday

Well, today I thought I was being all clever, sneaking out at 6:00am without waking anyone up. But, in the interest of not waking anyone up I skipped my usual fridge fruit raid. I got to the gym and did a little sprint workout to wake myself up, I felt a little sluggish but nothing out of the ordinary. Then I moved onto the circuits portion of the workout… I finished the burpees, got onto my sixth… yes you read that right SIXTH push up… and nearly passed out!!! No joke! I literally felt like my body was a ten ton weight! I somehow dragged myself through the workout and then came home and faceplanted into a massive bowl of porridge! Definitely not my finest hour in the gym but I finished the workout at least!

Wednesday

Wednesday I was assisting a friend with some styling. After a mammoth 12 hour day I got home feeling a little frazzled but knew I needed to work out to attempt to right the wrongs of Tuesdays crapfest of a workout so, somehow, I dragged myself out and ended up having a really good run! Just a quick 5 miles but it really cleared my head. My knees didn’t feel great but I’m coming to accept that as part of running for me. When I can afford to see a physio I will be all over it but for now I’m just keeping my mileage low and not running more than once a week.

Thursday

Thursday was another busy day work-wise. In the morning I helped with the returns from the shoot and then in the afternoon I had a sampling job so in between the two I busted out a quick and super sweaty Insanity in my living room.

Friday

Today I went into the gym with a long workout on the bike planned. My aim was to work on increasing cadence. I got 15 minutes and 5 miles in when Jerry, an old trainer of mine wandered in, spotted me and asked if I wanted to join in his circuits class. He runs KILLER classes and I haven’t been in a while so of course I agreed. He proceeded to kill me for the next hour. Jobs a good’un! 🙂

Saturday

Saturday I got a quick swim in. Despite leaving myself with barely any time in the pool I managed to get in a quick 10 x 50m and 4 x 75m. So pleased that I’m finally increasing my distances, it doesn’t feel like long ago when I was struggling to complete one length!! I also felt a marked improvement in my stroke, my cadence has decreased and (I think!) become a little more efficient! All in all I’m a happy bunny!

Sunday

Sunday reeeeeally should have been a rest day after having a girly night in on Saturday night, much wine and ice cream was consumed and very little sleep was had. Safe to say I woke up feeling a little rough on Sunday morning. I also woke up to a little drama because the cat had somehow sneaked out of the window but rather than staying on the ledge like usual, he must have jumped / fallen down to street level. When he realised that he couldn’t get back up & didn’t have anywhere to go he panicked and (luckily!!) started meowing like mad, cue me running outside in my pyjamas, half asleep to grab the little bugger! He’s been looking a little sheepish and staying away from the window ever since! Ha!

Anyway, about the workout! I attempted to figure out watt workouts on the bike. I’m still not exactly sure how it worked or what I should have been doing but I set the watt to 200 and kept my cadence above 90 for the whole workout.

photoI was planning on doing at least an hour but the girls got a little antsy on the bikes so we cut the workout short and moved onto a little circuit instead.

To summarise, not the best week BUT I did something 6 out of 7 days and I had a good week cross training wise, which I really missed the week before! I also squeezed in a run which was much needed. I definitely would have benefited from more swimming and also by clocking more time on the bike so this week I will aim to work on those things.

Soooo… watt workouts?? Anyone?? I def need a little help because my attempt didn’t feel anywhere near hard enough and I know I covered less miles than I normally would have done in the same time, where am I going wrong?

Lots of love, Hayley

Leave a Reply

